.

Shoney's Fails Health Inspection

Our weekly list of health-and-safety-check results includes Cartersville restaurants and lodging facilities inspected from March 1 to 8.

Bartow County Environmental Health conducts inspections of local establishments to give patrons a snapshot of the operations of the businesses. Its goal is to provide consumers information to help protect themselves from the risk factors linked to illness and injury.

Items on inspection lists have point values ranging from 1 to 9 points and are deducted from a best possible score of 100. Higher points are deducted for items with higher risks to cause illness. Repeat violations also cost establishments more points.

Cartersville restaurants, eateries, food stores and boarding facilities inspected during the last week were:

BOJANGLES/CENTRAL PARK—97-A
View Last inspection   Last 5 Inspections

GRAND CHINA—91-A
View Last inspection Last 5 Inspections

KATHY CARES—93-A
View Last inspection   Last 5 Inspections

TARASCOS TACOS AND WINGS—93-A
View Last inspection   Last 5 Inspections

CARTERSVILLE COUNTRY CLUB—82-B
View Last inspection Last 5 Inspections

SHONEY'S—63-U
View Last inspection   Last 5 Inspections

Tell us what you think in the comments, share your photos and videos, and don’t miss any of the local news you care about—subscribe to Cartersville Patch's newsletter, like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Rupert March 10, 2013 at 05:43 PM
They put dog in thier horseloaf.
DarciM. March 11, 2013 at 11:17 AM
Shoney's has a horrible reputation Nation-wide, I NEVER eat at one!!! Probably why the demise of all of them, and why they sit vacant/empty! Denny's are a close second! Just nasty places
Brande Poulnot (Editor) March 11, 2013 at 02:17 PM
Sarah Stephens on Facebook says, "Close them down and put decent employees in there and change management." What do you think?
Pearl Smith March 11, 2013 at 03:40 PM
I eat there all the time, my whole family loves going to Shoneys!! I've never noticed any thing wrong or unclean. BEST SALAD BAR IN TOWN!!
Pearl Smith March 11, 2013 at 03:43 PM
why all the negative comments. The employees are super at their job, the food is good and the dining room is excellent. Our children want to go there all the time.
Ed Bay March 12, 2013 at 12:06 AM
If DarciM never eats at Shoney's how does she know they are so bad? Voicing a disparaging opinion without knowing the facts makes Darci & Sarah look like idiots. I own two Shoney's restaurants and I nor my staff appreciate the general negative comments from people who don't eat in our stores. I could easily make negative comments about their places of employment, but I won't.
MAIDEN March 12, 2013 at 03:42 PM
love me some SHONEYS
Ellen Moore March 12, 2013 at 04:40 PM
When people speak about things they are not educated on it simply makes them look ignorant.No one at this, or any Shoneys, would allow their restaurant to become so bad that it would put someone's health at risk. Look at the report and understand how it works before you cast judgement. Ed is right,it is VERY easy to make negative comments about any person,place or thing hiding behind the internet. Shoneys is a great place to eat a meal at a fair price.Maybe the Patch should understand more too,before they make it a headline.Why was'nt the 97 that this restaurant scored before this last inspection headline news?Is it because we only look for the bad to report?Just look at Rupert's remarks to see what kind of folks respond to this nonsense.
Rupert March 13, 2013 at 03:59 AM
Ellen Moora: Maybe you could educate us on what a health risk is. You must think the inspectors are ignorant too. Shoneys probably is a great place to eat by your standards. Please tell me what Brande needs to understand about reporting a failing score. A 63-U is news. A 97 is not. I don't know why the Health Dept. don't condemn that dump I was wrong about their horse-loaf having dog in it. It was RAT. Here's you some more nonsense Shoney's reacts to shutdown » TheTimesTribune.com, Corbin, KYthetimestribune.com/local/x257416619/Shoney-s-reacts to.../print - North Knoxville buffet fails health inspection again www.wate.com/.../north-knoxville-buffet-fails-health-inspection-agai Judge orders Shoneys to stay closed until back - The News Journalthenewsjournal.net/ Shoney's - Inspection Report - www.healthspace.com/Clients/VDH/.../Food-InspectionDetails HealthSpac
Larry March 13, 2013 at 04:22 PM
All the violations are a training issue. If the management can't train the employees properly, management should be replaced. If employees can't be trained, employees should be replaced.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »